About 2 km northwest of Zhenjiang, Jinshan Hill is 43.7 meters above sea level. The scenic zone shows an unusual architectural style with all the halls, pavilions, kiosks and towers built in line with the landform of the hill. In addition, the Cishou Pagoda stands at the top of Jinshan Hill. An old saying goes that “The hill is covered by the Jinshan Temple because people can only see the temple and pagoda rather than the hill”. There are over 30 scenic spots and historical sites in the scenic zone, each having a moving myth or legend. The main tourist attractions in the hill include the Jiangtian Buddhist Temple, White Dragon Cave, Fahai cave and Cishou Pagoda.
Xijindu Ancient Street
Lying at the foot of Yuntai Mountain in the west of Zhenjiang City, it was originally a plank road built along the face of a cliff, with the Yangtze River running below. Walking along the plank roadway, you can go to Guazhou Islet. The ancient street is about 1,000 meters long, and the historical sites form the Six Dynasties to the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) can be seen everywhere. The deep traces of wheels on the black slab stones, the time-honored shops on both sides of the streets, the two-story buildings laid out in the fashion of a maze, the carved patterns on the windows, the mottled counters silently tell the great changes of the ancient ferry and street over the past 1,000 years.
The Jiasoshan Hill Scenic Zone is about 5 km northeast of Zhenjiang, with an elevation of 70.7 meters and an area of 38 hectares. It is also called Qiaoshan Hill or Shiyan (Lion Rock). The houses with whitewashed walls and black tiles are tucked away in the green pine and cypress trees all over the mountain. In the shape of a floating jade, Jiaoshan Hill is covered with lushly growing trees, of which many are famous ancient trees. The 24 scenic spots and rich cultural relics in the scenic zone will make you find the scenery pleasing to both the eyes and the mind. The main tourist attractions include the Dinghui Temple, Jiaoshan Forest of Steles and Longevity Pagoda.
Maoshan Mountain, originally known as Juqu Mountain or Difei Mountain, is located in the southeast of Jurong city. It is a famous Taoist mountain. In its heyday, Maoshan Mountain embraced 257 Taoist temples and over 5,000 houses. Now the Jiuxiao Wanfu palace and Yuanfu Wanning Palace have been renovated and are jointly called the Maoshan Taoist Temple. The Jiuxiao Wanfu Palace stands at Damao Peak, the main peak of Maoshan Mountain; hence the name Summit Palace. The Yuanfu Wanning Palace, which lies on the southern slope of Jijin Peak, is the place for holding Taoist seals; hence the name Seal Palace.
Zhenjiang Museum sits on the old site of the British consulate. The museum contains over 30,000 cultural relics ranging from the Neolithic Age to the Ming and Qing dynasties, and over 100,000 copies of ancient books. Among them are one national treasure, and some 70 first-grade national cultural relics. The Museum’s main exhibits include the bronze wares of the Western Zhou Dynasty (1046-770 BC), celadon of the Six Dynasties, silver wares of the Tang, Song, Yuan and Ming dynasties, and calligraphic works and paintings of the Ming and Qing dynasties.
Lying on the southern shore of the Yangtze River, the Beigu Hill is one of the three famous hills in Zhenjiang, along with Jinshan Hill and Jiaoshan Hill. It is 53 meters above sea level and has three peaks, going from the front, middle and rear sides of the hill. Ganlu Temple (Ganlusi) is on the Rear Peak, the highest one. Standing on the steep precipices, you can take a broad view of the Yangtze River.
Baohua Hill boasts the beautiful forests at the foot, exquisite peaks, deep caves and misty scenery. Baohua magnolias growing in the hill are the pre-history “living fossils”, which are peculiar to Baohua Hill. TheLongchang Temple on the hill is a famous Buddhist temple, known as the “No. 1 Hill of Vinaya Sect”.
Former Residence of Pearl S. Buck
Pearl S. Buck was an American writer, who won the Nobel Prize for Literature because of her “poetic description of the life of the Chinese peasants”. Her prize-winning books include The Good Earth, Foreign Guests, and East wind, West Wind, which describe the life of the Chinese around 1930s. Located in Dengyun Hill, Zhenjiang, the Former Residence of Pearl S. Buck is a two-story building, with an area of about 400 square meters. On Oct. 31, 1992 it was renamed the “Zhenjiang Friendly Exchange Hall”, which is devoted to the display and collection of the works by Pearl S. Buck, the materials about this American writer and some significant exhibits on the friendly exchange between China and the United States.