By the end of the 19th century, foreign colonialists built a large group of buildings of different architectural styles in Qingdao, which have turned the city into a metropolis on the sea with European-style architectures.
Buildings in Qingdao are of different architectural styles of more than 20 countries. The representatives are Badaguan building complex, Guest Greeting hall, Catholic Church and Christian Church. All the buildings have their own history and there is a story behind each of them. Year round, on every day, a newly married couple in their wedding clothes will take photos in front of such buildings to record down their romantic love.
Badaguan is located in the eastern part of Huiquan Bay. The crossed streets in the area explain why it is called Badaguan which means eight passes. The construction of the buildings in Badaguan began in the 1920s. Today, there are more than 200 building complexes in architectural styles of 25 countries such as the portico style of Roman, the Gothicism of West Europe and castle style of Europe. The well-known buildings include Huashi Building, Princess Building, the Songs Garden, Yijuhe Villa and Donghai Hotel. The streets and roads up and down according to the geographic conditions are lined up by trees. The villa buildings hide in the trees and are surrounded by lawns. A romantic walk here makes you be sentimentally attached to the area.
Guest Greeting Hall is on the southern slope of Xinhao Hill Scenic Area in Qingdao and is of the German castle-like building of the European royal style. Originally it was the official residence of governor-general of Germany in Shandong Peninsula and was famous as “Governor’s Mansion”. Designed by a German architect, its construction began in 1905 and complete in 1907. It covers an area of some 4,000 square meters. With an elegant shape, luxurious decoration, nice and sharp outline and brilliant colors, it still leads the single villa-like buildings in China. After the nationwide liberation, the Party and government leaders including Chairman Mao and Premier Zhou Enlai had their holidays here.
Catholic Church, originally called St. Michael’s Cathedral, is on a mound at the northern end of Zhejiang Road. It was constructed in 1932-1934 with the donation from a German missionary. In a shape of cross, its main body is 80 meters long. It is flanked by two quiet gardens on both sides. It is one of the famous Catholic Churches and the only holy church in China. Because it is located in a mound and has a double-spire top, it is a commanding point of front sea scenic areas of Qingdao. Together with the loading bridge, it is the symbol of the buildings in Qingdao.
Christian Church is in the courtyard at No.15 Jiangsu Road. It is German-style Romanic church with heavy and strong walls, semi-circle arch granite window frame, red gamble roof and green spire bell tower. Designed by a German architect, its construction began in 1908 and completed in 1910. Its main body is composed of the hall and the bell tower. You can climb up the bell tower to have a bird’s eye view of the city. Today it is an activity place for Christians.
The former Office of the Governor, one of the classical architectures in Qingdao, is on Qingdao Road. Its construction was complete in 1906. In its early years it was the office of German governor. With rock walls and red tiles, it is strong and solemn and reflects an architectural art form of European public houses in the 19th century.
Former Residence of Kang Youwei, who was a leader of the Reform Movement of 1989 of the late Qing Dynasty, is at No.5 Tributary of Fushan Road, South District, Qingdao. It’s a classic German-style architecture and its construction began in 1899. Originally, it was a contemporary official residence of German governor-general in the Shandong Pninsula. Today it houses many rare historical and cultural relics.